Relativity (Time and Age)

Albert Einstein explained the relativity of time as this: “Time is relative. If you’re stuck doing something you do not enjoy, time seems to go on forever, but if you are with a pretty girl, it seems like only a moment has passed.” Yes, sue me, I very roughly paraphrased that. But you get the jist of what he means, right? So I began thinking about what he said and understood it perfectly. I remember when I was in sixth grade, I joined my church’s youth band, and the leader of the band was in 11th grade. She came up and talked to me and I was in awe. A high schooler noticed I existed!!! I was flattered and blown away and honored to be in her presence. She was funny, popular, and beautiful.

That was about four years ago. Now she’s all grown up and I’m the 11th grader. It didn’t really hit me how fast time had flown until I found myself in her shoes. My church has a little get together every year at summer’s end to welcome the rising 6th graders, and I had the pleasure of talking to some of them. It was shocking to see them look and talk to me the same way I had talked to high schoolers when I was their age! They all had their hopes and fears which they timidly expressed as I sat there in shock. Where had the time gone? I wondered. I swear that I was in 6th grade both yesterday and an eternity ago. And now, before I can catch my bearings, I’ll be in college and then an adult. It all seems so far away, but so close at the same time, you know? So I guess, in a way, I’m still that little 6th grader with hopes and fears of my own. So, time is relative, and we are both a whisper into the void and a wellspring of infinite possibilities. It all depends on how you look at it.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

