Guarding Your Heart <3

image

I’ve been evaluating this verse lately and thinking about how it applies to my own life. For one, I’m not an emotional person. Or at least I try not to be. While emotions can be our greatest strength as it helps us to share in the joys and sorrows of loved ones, it is often our greatest weakness. It clouds our judgement, and makes us do crazy things. It often times rules our lives. I realized that every time I made a stupid decision, it was because I decided to “follow my heart” aka: emotions.

I’m a teen girl. I’m supposed to be crazy about guys, over emotional, and slightly melodramatic. Or at least that’s how teens are seen by adults. And it’s how most of us are. Supposedly we “just can’t help it”. Every one at my age is is either crushing on or dating boys. It takes over their thoughts and emotions. It would be perfectly acceptable if I were to do the same. And at one time, it did. Because I didn’t guard my heart. I gave it away because it felt right. Well you know what? It wasn’t mine to give! All that I am should be God’s, not the world’s. I don’t want to be led by emotions, I want to be led by God.

I don’t want to spend my teen years vying for the attention of boys. The thought of it is revolting. I want my teen years to be the launching pad for my faith. I want to guard my heart from the trappings of this world and seek God. Girls and Women everywhere: You have a choice! You don’t have to be controlled by your hormones or society, or anything that keeps you from seeking God with all your heart, soul and mind. You can choose to guard your heart. Don’t give it to boys, give it to God.

image

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

