Update on Life; Perspective And Hope

Just got back from another physical therapy session. It went well I guess. My flexibility continues to improve. For the first time in a long while, I have hope that I’m not stuck this way. I feel really grateful right now. Every week I walk into the PhT Gym and see a lot of people in worse shape than me and I realize that I have no right to go around feeling sorry for myself. Besides, I don’t have any tragic back story or anything exciting to make me interesting and an inspiration to all like a lot of the folks I see there every week.

First came the rashes when I was 7, then the stiffness and pain, then by the time age 9 had come around, my joints had stopped working. All of the sudden I just couldn’t do much of anything. A really boring story I guess. But it’s helped make me who I am. Through it all, if I’ve learned anything momentous, it’s that things could always be worse, especially if you don’t have hope, and things, even the terrible ones aren’t nearly as bad as they seem if you get some perspective on the matter.

So this is what I’ve concluded: No, this wasn’t fair or right by our standards, just as it isn’t fair or right for me to be angry about it. It wasn’t tragic either. It was life-changing, yes. Also difficult. But I’m not sure our finite minds have any business going around determining what is and isn’t fair.

image

Well that’s all for now, I really ought to get some school done. I hope this helps you in some way.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

