Lessons I’ve Learned in 2014: Change

image

At the beginning of this year, I quit Bible Bowl. I then shortly thereafter left the church I had been at for the past three years. I thought the people I had met there would always be in my life. I thought that that church would be my home church. I surrendered my desire to go into the music industry. Everything fell apart, and now, looking back, I have never been more thankful for anything in my life than I am about all that happening.

At the time I was confused and lonely, I began to resent change. I wanted everything to stay exactly the same. Man, am I glad I didn’t get my wish! Leaving that toxic environment I was in was the best thing for me. It put me on the right path. Sure, if I’d stayed, there’d probably be no major consequences, but I needed change. I think that there are thousands of different paths for us. There’s no wrong and right. Our world is way too complicated for that. But as each path presents different opportunities, it will also lead to different versions of ourselves.

I like the path I choose. It won’t be easy, but it will be worth it. I’m proud of who I am becoming. I’ve learned to accept change. We live in a world full of temporary things. So why do we continue to demand of God that things are to stay exactly how we want it to? We are taught to cling to everything around us. We are also taught that we are the writers of our own story, the directors of our own fate. That is simply not true. If you were given the choice to write out your entire life as a teenager, could you do it? I know I couldn’t. Things happen for a reason, and God is the one who wrote your life story. He knows how it ends. So when he tells you that it’s time to let go, obey. He knows what he’s doing even if you can’t see it.

image

image

Have a great day! = ) http://m.youtube.com/?reload=7&rdm=1cw8hh48x#/watch?v=aKkHi5lJ4yc

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “Lessons I’ve Learned in 2014: Change

  1. Pingback: Lessons Learned in 2015: Flux | Lessons Learned

  2. Pingback: Lessons Learned in 2015: Friendship | Lessons Learned

  3. Pingback: Lessons Learned in 2015: Fear | Lessons Learned

Leave a Reply

