Is Debating About Religion Right?

Hey! So sorry for the lack of blog posts….. I’ve been busy and had issues with my kindle and also just haven’t had much to write about. But now I am back!

So I know I’ve written about debating before, but the reason for doing so is because it’s kinda a big issue/problem of mine. I have sort of a love/hate relationship with it. I enjoy a friendly debate and hearing other people express their thoughts on a wide range of subjects. It’s really mind opening for me.

But are their some subjects that should be avoided? I can already hear several certain someone’s I knew telling me that I don’t know the correct definition of debating, but I do.

We don’t ever really follow that definition though, do we? We get angry and worked up, especially when discussing our beliefs. Cause it angers us when the other party is SO ignorant! I mean, come on! How can those with their  clearly wrong opinion live with themselves!? Doesn’t it drive them insane to live in a constant state of wrongness!? Their lives can not be complete unless we change their opinion! God must have created us  Christians for that purpose…..yes! Yeah, NO!

Actions speak louder than words. I don’t mean for you to spend hours volunteering and then being able to go home to your nice life just so you feel like you added another jewel to your crown. I mean that the way you treat others will speak louder (suprisingly) than you slapping down atheists, feminists, gay, and downright “sinning folk” that have fallen SO far from God that they need you there to set them straight (Sorry, pun NOT intended!)

We will never be able to be a witness to others by loudly discrediting what they believe (seriously, when has that EVER worked!?) but instead try letting our behavior speak for itself.

Cause guess what? That atheist that you got in a debate with last week about creation left the conversation not in awe of your persuasiveness  But in disgust of your aggressiveness.

You can choose what you debate about, I really don’t care, but I personally am starting to question whether some things should be a instant no-no. There is nothing more of a turn off than seeing a fellow Christian throwing around their opinions with obvious insecurity. I’m done with being that person. I’m done with debating about religion.

Speaking of debates…. Let the comment debates begin!

5 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

5 responses to “Is Debating About Religion Right?

  1. Anon

    Well, if you insist.

    What if instead of debates devolving into heated arguments like they normally do, we actually respected the other person’s side and try to figure out what they believe, and why they believe it. Maybe encourage the other person to do the same in your case. Once you have a mutual understanding, politely point out why you think that they’re mistaken, and they can do the same for you. Debates certainly can devolve into arguments quickly, but if used correctly they can be an invaluable learning tool for discovering what you and other people think, and why. I’d be interested to hear your thoughts.

    Like

    • kmcmariah

      Man, I wish debates I’ve heard and been a part of went that smoothly! The ones I hear always end on a bad note cause people make it just a battle of wills. I’m glad to see that their are some people (like yourself) who don’t ruin debating by only seeking to tear down the person who you’re engaging in a debate with. Thanks for taking time to comment! πŸ™‚

      Like

  2. debates should be academic., not emotional

    so present the argument, and then the proof..

    if someone disagrees, then they should say so, then say why, with proof

    if you disagree, you do the same thing.

    Like

    • kmcmariah

      I’m thankful that there are people out there that don’t drag their emotions into a debate! It’s really refreshing to hear! But sadly I’ve never encountered anyone with such beliefs in the churches I’ve been to. Once I disagree on something that someone else strongly believes in, then, well, it gets messy….

      Most of the world’s population is made up of two personality types: ISTJ and ISFJ. With most males being the former and most females the latter. They are both rule followers and don’t question why we believe in one thing or another or why we have a certain rule, etc. But I question EVERYTHING, especially my own beliefs. I think that because God is infinite, all knowing, and the Creator of an entire Universe, that he can take my questions. It’s not like questioning him is going to make him doubt his own existence! So as you can imagine, I really clash with most of the GP. So it’s had me asking whether I should just leave the religion talk alone? I don’t mind ruffling some feathers, but now it’s reached the point where I’ve really stirred the pot.

      Like

  3. Pingback: 2015 Reflections | Lessons Learned

Leave a Reply

