The Road To Success 

I know a lot if people out there hate Mondays, so maybe this might help. After last week, I needed it to be Monday again so I can start fresh. Mondays have become an opportunity to do better than the week before. 

Last night I didn’t feel like doing anything. Nothing at all. I didn’t want to clean, start school today, eat, or even binge on Netflix. And that almost never happens. So there I was, lying in bed, and a thought popped into my mind. “This is what the road to success feels like, the moments that successful people talk about. They all say how hard it was and these are the moments when everything seems pointless and theses are the moments that define them in the end. It’s the moments when you feel like giving up and doing nothing, that you must give it everything you’ve got.” And so even though I didn’t want to move, I forced myself out of bed and played “Immortals” by Fall Out Boy on YouTube.  I didn’t instantly feel like changing the world and I still don’t. The only reason I got up today is because I knew my future self would want me to. Well that, and cause my phone had fallen underneath my bed and I was sick of hearing the alarm blare. 

I’m not going to tell you to never stop trying, cause that’s your decision to make. The road to success is hard. Really hard. And it’s sometimes not even worth the effort. I guess what I’m trying to say is pick and choose your battles. Fight for what you want and surrender to God the things that are making you miserable. 

Well, I need to finish school. I hope my future is worth the effort. 

4 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

4 responses to “The Road To Success 

  1. a person

    Out of curiosity, what do you define success to be?

    Like

  2. a person

    No, what do you define success as? If you fail in your goals, do you think that makes you a failure?

    Like

    • kmcmariah

      If i fail at my goals, then id better come up with a different career choice! And it doesn’t make me a failure if i try my hardest but i just don’t make it. Cause that’s just life. For me, failure is when you stop trying. If i gave up on accomplishing my goals simply because i was lazy, then that would be, by definition, failing. But if my current goals changed, then that wouldn’t mean I failed, it would mean that i found something more worth my efforts

      Like

Leave a Reply

