17 Things I Want to Achieve While 17

My birthday was about two weeks ago, and as an INTJ, I like to have plans. Goals to accomplish. If Katniss could start a revolution and if Annabeth Chase had saved the world more than once by 17, it can’t hurt to plan to do a couple of cool things while I’m 17. Anyways, I’ve become addicted to making lists so here goes!

1.) Learn how to do makeup well.

I honestly don’t understand how other High School girls can spend 1 or more hours on their makeup every day. I can’t even remember to do my hair on some days! Let alone a full face of make up! So I want to learn how to look put together with little effort. Learn some quick makeup looks and how to apply it properly.

2.) Stop belittling myself.

I see intelligence as a scale. I’m smarter than a lot of individuals my age, but I still have a very long way to go. So I use that as a justification to tell myself to not take pride in my accomplishments. I’m constantly putting myself down for the fear that I’ll turn arrogant if I like myself and what I do too much. It’s not low self esteem…I love myself. I just don’t want other people to see that. I’m embarrassed for others to see my accomplishments. So I put myself down because that’s what society has deemed normal for teen girls to do. But 17 is the brink of adulthood. I don’t want to be seen as an insecure girl, that’s so ugly for adults. I want to be a confident woman.

3.) Don’t let fear control my actions.

Like I mentioned earlier, I’m an INTJ. I like having plans, and facts, and I absolutely detest the unknown. And, I’ll be the first to admit that I grew up a bit sheltered. Not sheltered from all bad things, but I never did normal things like go to my first dance or go to public school. Or grow up in a neighborhood. I can handle the country life fine….but in a city, there’s too many unknown variables for my mind to deal will…so I tend to avoid that sort of thing. I’m tired of constantly wondering “What if?”. Despite how..crazy our world has gotten as of late, I don’t want to be afraid of living my life, you know? It seems to me that it’s in the times of chaos and despair that we need to more than every make every moment count. I just don’t want to reach the end of my life and realize I never lived any of it, if that makes any sense.

4.) Learn self-defense.

I’m going to be in college by this time next year and I just want to be prepared. Or over prepared because that’s kinda my thing. Also I’m sure it’ll really help with my arthritis, so there’s that.

5.) Grow both blogs.

In case you didn’t already know, I have two blogs! This one, and another called Philomath Maniac where I get to be the biggest nerd in the history of nerds. It’s basically a blog where I explain stuff relating to Science, History, or Math in an understandable way. And I’ve barely touched it since its creation because…well I haven’t really got an excuse for that one. The link is at the top of this page under ‘My Other Blog’ if you want to check that out. I promise to start posting on that again. Also, starting this week, I’m going to be releasing a post here every Monday and Friday so please subscribe if you want to stay up to date with what I’m doing here. I’m planning on doing more book related posts so if you’re interesting in reading, stay tuned and if there’s a book you’d like to read a review for, just let me know in the comments and I will read it (If I haven’t already done so. I’m an obsessive reader!)

6.) Stop procrastinating….eventually.

I am actually procrastinating right now. I am the ultimate master of procrastination. Y’all have no idea. My mind gets bored so easily so I can’t not do something. I always have to be doing something that I’m using my mind for and I hate doing things unless they serve some long term purpose. Why does she have trouble procrastinating? You may or may not be asking yourself. Well….I’m always doing something productive….just not the the productive thing that I really need to be doing. Writing this post before Monday? Kinda important to me. But right now I’m at my desk with my back turned to the horrible mess behind me…ALSO I need to finish writing up my high school transcripts that NEED to go out Monday. But guess what?! I’m writing a blog post and how I need to stop procrastinating! Pathetic…I know. Okay actually this is bothering me…I should go clean my room at least.

20 minutes later….

Okay, I did the responsible thing! Let’s get back to it:

7.) Get a job.

Along the lines of getting stuff done…a job. I’m really ashamed that I haven’t got one yet. Is there really anything left to say?

8.) Be flexible about life.

Did I mention I really like having a plan??? I did? Oh. Right. I know this next chapter of my life isn’t going to run smoothly. What I don’t know is if I can be flexible about constant fluctuation of my plans. Okay, yeah, it’s not gonna happen overnight! From what I’ve seen, it’s the adaptable that come out on top. I don’t want to stay so stuck in one place that people start using me as a step stool to lift them up. That was an odd metaphor. Let’s just go with it, Okay? Okay. (Yes, that was a TFIOS reference).

9.) Stop watching so much TV.

Have you ever thought about how much of your life you’ve spent in front of a screen? Well I have. And the answer scared me. Between my current shows and occasional binge watching on Netflix…ah well let me just stop there. You don’t want to know! Basically I’m wasting my life and I want to spend it on more productive things. Actually I should really just stop watching Netflix during weekdays. That is what really throws me off the path to success.

10.) Live a more organized lifestyle.

I’m either beyond organized or redefining chaos. There’s no in between. Okay, mostly redefining chaos. It has to stop. I seriously need to start setting deadlines. Actually, that gives me an idea! I’ve seen quite a few blogs that write a monthly list of goals with updates during the month. Maybe I should keep on doing follow ups with all these goals? Yep, totally gonna do it!

11.) Get in better shape.

In TV shows, geeks are pretty hot. In reality, most geek guys are sticks and most geek girls never see the light of day. I’m not Jemma Simmons. I’m pale and I haven’t got a developed muscle to be found. I spend my days hunched over my desk, pouring over textbooks. But as I’ve previously stated, balance is key. I really ought to start running or something. Online workouts on YouTube perhaps. I’ll think of something!

12.) Learn 1 new language.

I really, really, really like to learn new things. Oh, right, I think I already mentioned that! Haha sorry. Anyways I already know a lot of Spanish, but I want complete fluency. Therefore, this made my list.

13.) Get better at test taking.

I got a 21 on the ACT. And my IQ is in the 120 range. I don’t know if it’s nerves or discomfort, inexperience or all three! Whatever it is, I got to fix it before college. I’ve been working on finding test taking strategies for auditory learners. When I come up with a solid list, you’ll be able to find it on my other blog. If you’re an auditory learner and have some tips, please let me know in the comments section below. Thanks a bunch!

14.) Get my license at 18.

I barely drive.The car that I use for practice isn’t dependable. at all. And between my dad’s jobs and running errands, well I don’t practice much. But, before my 18th birthday, I need to fix that. I’m going to be 17 for the first 3 months of college so I’m also going to have to come up with a solution for that. Wow…college is less than a year away…It’s almost Christmas. What?!

15.) Cultivate more meaningful relationships.

Okay that sounds weird…let me explain. So I think that society as a whole is bad. But individuals are good. So basically I have a general dislike for people until I talk to them. Nope, still sounds weird! Also, I don’t like telling the people I’m close to what is going on in my mind emotion wise. Bad habit, I know. I just know that it’ll pass so it doesn’t seem…logical to express my emotions. Yes, only I would see friendships as something to improve upon. I shouldn’t have added this one to the list even though I was desperate.

16.) Write a book/ Write more poetry.

So I’ve been working on and off (mostly off) on a book series called ‘The Odyssey Chronicles’. It’s all about what life would be like if Satan were truly the king of a world and where grace and free will come into play in our own lives. I don’t want to go into too much detail, but I’ll definitely talk about it more in future blog posts. And, as you all know, I now write poetry! I’m constantly looking for ways to improve, so that’s my goal for the year of 17.

17.) Enjoy life!

C.S Lewis said that the Present is the most like Eternity. I want to get better at just enjoying the moment. I’m so future-oriented that I forget to just chill and enjoy being young and alive. I’m constantly reaching, wondering, dreaming, and  making plans. It’s a part of who I am. But the future isn’t some far off distant thing. It’s being shaped right now. The possibilities are endless, sure, but it’s in the everyday seemingly normal times where this improbable future begins. And as I’m 17, I want to enjoy it. I’m never going to be this age, be this person…ever again. I want to be able to look back on my life one day and say that I was fully alive and whole over the course of it. I’ve been learning that it doesn’t matter who you were and the only way you can change who you’re going to be, well, that begins NOW.

Thanks for reading! What are some of your goals? Anyways…Talk to you Friday! 

 

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “17 Things I Want to Achieve While 17

  1. Pingback: New Year 2016! | Lessons Learned

Leave a Reply

