My College Application Essay

I’m finally finishing my college applications and I thought y’all might enjoy my essay. The topic was about what my major was and how I planned to use it to reach my career goals. It was so much fun to write! Enjoy! 

  
It all started when I read a story. “A Wrinkle in Time” by Madeleine L’Engle. I was only 12 at the time. A story about an average girl who got to travel among the stars. That was the first time I’d heard of it: Astrophysics –  the application of the laws and theories of physics to the interpretation of astronomical observations. And to a girl growing up in a small country town, well, the idea of intergalactic space travel sounded out of this world – yes…I went there. The thought that as I write this, and as you read this, a small group of individuals are orbiting around the Earth, getting a glimpse of its vastness is mind-blowing to say the least! But what if mankind could go farther? What if we could travel, not only to different solar systems, but different galaxies? The author of “A Wrinkle in Time” called it tesseracting, but it was actually a wormhole. The bending of space/time itself.
With a Bachelor of Science in Physics/Astronomy and an eventual P.h.D in Astrophysics, I want to play a role in making intergalactic space travel possible. Are wormholes the solution? Maybe. Maybe not. I’m going to find out. I am choosing this career because I want to build a life that I’m still going to be madly passionate about at 50 or 60.

Because above all else, I’m here to learn. I could spend a lifetime learning and it would still not be long enough. I have this insatiable need to know EVERYTHING. Astrophysics gives me the chance to do something, to be a part of something bigger than myself or any of us here on this minuscule planet. Though I am but one, a tiny flicker of light drowning in the vastness of the universe, it’s in the moments when I’m gazing upward that I feel infinite. As though I’m a part of it all, capable of anything. And as high school comes to an end, I’m starting to realize that my time here on earth is just unfolding. My time for being a part of something bigger than myself is just getting started.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

