The Pollyanna Game.

That’s the name of a game I’ve been playing since I was 12 years old. A way to be optimistic in the face of darkness. For those days when nothing seems to be going right. And after a recent conversation with a friend of mine about optimism, I thought a post about it would be appropriate.

For those if you who haven’t heard of Pollyanna, she was a character from a book called, um, “Pollyanna”.
A story about a girl who always saw the best in every situation when, and especially when, there seemed to be no bright side. She made the world a better place merely by seeing the best in everything. I aspire to be that way. I can only hope that I’m making the world a better place by blogging and writing the words I could never say aloud.

Let me explain how the game goes. It can be played two different ways. One of the ways is at the end of each day, write down three good things that happened to you or three things that went right. The second is to throughout the day, whenever something bad happens, just pause and find the silver lining to each situation. For example, here are three good things that happened to me today:

  1. I organized my room and it turned out looking very nice. which makes me feel very productive and therefore happier!
  2. The weather warmed up drastically so my arthritis isn’t bothering me anymore!
  3. I helped one of my friends feel better by talking to her and lending a listening ear. I’m glad I was able to help her and helping others makes me happy. : )

Needless to say, it’s been a good day! Sure, I didn’t accomplish everything I set out to do, but it’s a fresh day tomorrow just brimming with potential!

This game that I’ve played for the past 5 years has taught me that good things come to those who find the good in every thing. And that the ability to have hope, to be optimistic, lies in each one of us. For every bad day you have, there are many more good days you haven’t yet lived. Who knows how many wonderful people will come into your life or how many more wonderful things will happen to you?! Yes, the world is full of death and darkness, but if you choose to just see the storms, you’ll never recognize the light when it hits you.

What are three good things that’s happened to you today? 

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

