Lessons Learned in 2015: Friendship

86,400 seconds in a day. 604,800 seconds in a week. 2,629,800 seconds in a month. 31,557,600 seconds in an entire year. We don’t deal in the currency of money, but of time. And it can’t be saved or stored up and with every click clack of the clock, another precious second is being spent. Have you ever stopped to think of how you spend it? We all budget our money, counting every dollar. We rarely find ourselves wasting or throwing away our money. It’s quite frowned upon to do so. Why do we do the same with time and people treat it like it’s nothing?

Have you ever thought about the concept of friendship before? It’s basically meeting someone you don’t know and thinking “They seem pretty cool, I want to spend my time on them.” And then you do. Maybe months, maybe years, maybe the rest of your life. And maybe if we thought of it that way, we’d stop giving our moments to those who don’t care whether we waste them. Those who make us feel unwanted, or unloved.

The funny thing about all this, is that I learned the most about being a friend when I had none. I couldn’t imagine what it was like to just be able to call someone up, or vent about something to them whenever. I had a few people come into and my life during those years, but not like it is now. Some were friends I had during Bible Bowl. We of course spent a lot of time together, especially when we were paired on the same team. but those ended more or less after I left. And I had another friend of 5 years but I don’t think I’m going to hear from her again.

I’ve learned that the most important thing to be as a friend is loyal and honest. Being lied to by someone who I once considered a friend has taught me that the most valuable thing I can give someone is my honesty. And being left by some who I thought would always be by my side has taught me that being loyal is greater than any gift or words of affirmation. And most importantly, from being alone all these years, I learned that the only thing worse than being alone, is being friends with those that make you feel lonely. I don’t ever want to do that to anyone.

I’ve learned that as human beings, we need friends. We need companionship. 2015 has been probably the best year ever and the people I’ve met this year have played a huge part in that. This blog has played a large role in that too. I feel more connected now to people. It just hit me the other day that there are people out there in other parts of the world that genuinely care about me. Care about my poetry and my words. It blows me away every single time I think about it. I’m not invisible anymore. I have a voice and you guys are the reason why. So thank you so very much for coming back and reading my posts every week! It means more than I could ever say. Stay tuned tomorrow for the last post in the series!

Read the rest of the series here!

Lessons Learned in 2015: Forward
Lessons Learned in 2015: Flux
Lessons Learned in 2015: Fear

Interested in last years series?

Lessons Learned in 2014: Confidence
Lessons Learned in 2014: Change
Lessons Learned in 2014: Loneliness
Lessons Learned in 2014: Strength

3 Comments

Filed under Lessons Learned

3 responses to “Lessons Learned in 2015: Friendship

  1. Pingback: Lessons Learned in 2015: Flux | Lessons Learned

  2. Pingback: Lessons Learned in 2015: Fear | Lessons Learned

  3. “I’m not invisible anymore.” <– That's what I thought to myself as well, actually! It's so good to feel acknowledged and thought of from time to time…

    Like

Leave a Reply

